Sunday, July 11, 2010

Kings Quest: The Silver Lining

The Silver Lining is a free unofficial continuation to the Kings Quest series. The Kings Quest series, made by Sierra Entertainment, were classical point and click adventure games until the last instalment Mask of Eternity which was very combat heavy. The Silver Lining goes back to its roots bringing us another classical adventure.

The road that lead to the release of The Silver Lining was a rocky one, and until recently it looked like it would never be released at all. It has received two separate cease and desist notices; The first cease and desist was from Vivendi and the, after they merged, from Activision.

The Silver Lining is episodic, with What is Decreed Must Be being the only one released so far and with five episodes planned in total:
  1. What is Decreed Must Be
  2. Two Households
  3. My Only Love Sprung From My Only Hate
  4. Tis In My Memory Locked. And You Yourself Shall Hold The Key Of It
  5. A Thousand Times Goodnight.
It has quite high production qualities for a indie game. The graphics are in 3D, and are quite good. The voice acting is better then some commercial games and at the lease not distracting from the overall experience. Also when wandering around looking at items/places their is always a huge amount of information/backstory that the narrator can give you if you want to sit through it all.

In general it has a atmosphere of classical adventure overhanging everything, but with more modern production values. And I think it will be a great addition to the series, and hopefully inspire more fan made additions to old, but not forgotten, IP.

No comments:

Post a Comment